Vai ai contenuti

24H SERIES ​Autorama Motorsport by Wolf-Power takes TCE victory at Hankook 12H MUGELLO

Pubblicato da in NEWS MOTORSPORT · 31 Marzo 2019
The Autorama Motorsport by Wolf-Power Racing Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR (#112, Fabian Danz / Jan Sorensen / Kristian Jepsen) went two-for-two in the 24H TCE SERIES by taking victory at the Hankook 12H MUGELLO. Jan Sorensen took the Volkswagen across the line to complete 300 laps of the 5.245km Autodromo Internazionale del Mugello, converting a front row start into victory.
This is the second win of this year’s 24H SERIES powered by Hankook for the Swiss outfit, which also kicked off its 2019 Championship of the Continents campaign two months ago with a win at the vaunted Hankook 24H DUBAI.
“It was a really tough race because someone was always on our tail,” Jan Sorensen explained to’s Joe Bradley. “Yesterday we came up to 2nd, but this morning we fell all the way down the order and thought all was totally lost. Fortunately everyone seemed to have trouble with their tyres. Suddenly we were 4th and then we were 1st! But we had some fast guys chasing us down, so it feels so good to be standing here.”
The AC Motorsport Audi RS3 LMS (#188, Stephane Perrin / Vincent Radermecker / James Kaye) secured 2nd place overall in TCE having led the division outright early on, falling just 26s short of the #112 Volkswagen at the flag. The Lestrup Racing Team Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR (#110, Mats Olsson / Peter Fahlström / Stefan Nilsson / Emil Sällberg) managed to pip fellow VW runners Holmgaard Motorsport (#102, Magnus Holmgaard / Jonas Holmgaard / Roy Edland / Benny Simonsen) to secure the final step of the TCE podium.
The MONLAU COMPETICION CUPRA TCR (#109, Munkong Sathienthirakul / Anusorn Asiralertsiri / Chariya Nuya / Kantadhee Kusiri) did lead the opening stages of this afternoon’s race, but a broken driveshaft and a heavy collision on-track eventually eliminated the TCE pole sitter shortly after half-distance. Issues for the sister CUPRA TCR (#107, Stuart Hall / Christopher Kemp / David Tinn / Tom Black) meant the Spanish team could only salvage 10th in the TCR class.
SP3 & A3
A fraught race meant victory in SP3 was taken by the Amag First Centri Porsche Ticino Porsche Cayman GT4 CS (#312, Valerio Presezzi / Matteo Arrigosi / Ivan Jacoma / Ivan Reggiani), a remarkable turn of fortune for the team that failed to start at all on its debut in Dubai. Despite stopping on-track, the Munckhof Racing BMW M4 (#310, Eric van den Munckhof / Marco Poland) managed to overhaul the Vortex V8 Vortex Scirocco GC 10 (#301, Philippe Bonnel / Franck Lefèvre / Nicolas Nobs) for 2nd in-class.  
Further back, the Dan Agro Racing Peugeot RCZ (#685, Nicolaj Kandborg / René Rasmussen / Steffan Jusjong) secured A3-class victory. The Danish team had enjoyed a lengthy battle for the top spot with the Synchro Motorsport Honda FK8-Civic Type-R (#676, Alyn James / Daniel Wheeler), but an incident with the Car Collection Audi severely hobbled the Honda’s handling. As a result, the 2017 24H TCE SERIES Champions would eventually finish 3rd in-class behind the WEC Motorsport BMW E46 M3 (#639, Dave Cox / Jason Cox / George Haynes / Guy Povey).

Torna ai contenuti